h1

Yoghurt Cake

August 9, 2009




When I first married The Husband he mentioned a “yoghurt cake” his mom used to make for him. I’d never had anything like it, the mere thought of using turning yoghurt in my cooking made my stomach roll! But…he wanted it, so I shelved it as something I would make “some day”

That day eventually arose, The Husband didn’t eat all his yoghurt in time and as I am loathe to throw things away I sucked up my disgust and off I baked. I surprised myself however, it created a beautifully moist cake (I am not overly a cake person) that I actually couldn’t get enough of – and The Husband says he likes it better than his mom’s version!

Now I smile whenever I see the yoghurt reaching it’s use by date as I know what goodness will come from it. Admittedly I’ve baked this cake with yoghurt that was perfectly fine just because I had a craving! I’ve used a variety of yoghurts, and I’ve even substituted things here and there (cornmeal/almond meal/bran instead of/mixed with flour) but the basic recipe is always the best.

This version was made with a strawberry yoghurt

Yoghurt Cake

1/2 cup butter
1 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
1 cup Yoghurt

-Preheat oven to 180C
-Cream butter, sugar & vanilla
-Beat in egg, combine Flour, baking soda & baking powder
-Stir into batter alternatively with yoghurt
-Bake for approximately 50 minutes

Leave a Reply

