h1

Mixing the cake

August 29, 2009


Slow process….getting this up here! I made this Cranberry Nut Cake whilst I was visiting my family so was a few weeks ago now and I’ve been meaning too get it up but getting the photo up was a little difficult for a multitude of reasons. So as I sit here waiting impatiently for my new dining room table to arrive I thought I’d take the opportunity to get this up quickly.

The recipe is a bit of a mish mash of a number of recipes I’ve discovered and thought would work great together. It worked out great from my perspective, the only thing I would have changed is the coffee liqueur I used – not my favourite, knew that but it was what my mum had on hand. Still a fine flavour though, worked out all sweet and nutty. Like I said, great from my perspective

Cranberry Nut Cake

Ingredients
1 ½ cups dried cranberries
125 ml coffee liqueur
4 cups (460 grams) sifted all-purpose flour
1 cup (200 grams) white granulated sugar
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
Zest of one orange or lemon (optional)
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1/4 cup (4 tablespoons) (56 grams) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 ¼ cups (360 ml) milk
1/2 cup (60 grams) toasted almonds, coarsely chopped (can use walnuts, hazelnuts or pecans)

Directions

Butter, or spray with a nonstick vegetable, a 9 x 5 x 3 inch (23 x 13 x 8 cm) loaf pan. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C). (Note: if you are using a dark colored pan reduce the oven temperature to 325 degrees F (160 degrees C).

Put the cranberries and coffee liqueur in a small saucepan and bring to the boil (it won’t take long). Remove from heat, cover and leave for an hour, or until the cranberries have absorbed most of the liqueur.
In a large bowl whisk together the sifted flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and orange zest. In a separate bowl whisk together the beaten egg, melted butter, vanilla extract and milk. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Mix in the fruit and nuts. Pour into the prepared pan and bake for about 70 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Remove from oven and let cool on a wire rack. Wrap in aluminum foil and store for a few days before serving. It can be frozen.
Makes one – 9×5 inch loaf

Leave a Reply

