h1

Anzacs

September 3, 2009


There are a couple of reasons I made these particular biscuits. First and foremost a friend (Monsieur Le Frog) was made a citizen yesterday evening and since I’m a giver (a giving baker!) I thought the best way to commemorate the event was with cookies. Another friend suggested that Choc Chip Cookies (the favourite of Monsieur Le Frog) was not really appropriate on this occasion and suggested the Anzac! I’m fine with cliche’s so jumped on the idea!

The second and not so interesting reason was simply that with the above in mind, when it was decided that work would have an afternoon tea after the staff meeting today to welcome the new Assistant Director and that each team should bring “a plate” it seemed almost necessary for me to bake. Though really when do I really need a reason if I want to bake.

The recipe I used I am not sure where originated but this is just the recipe I always use for the biscuits. Excuse the horrible photo, I didn’t think to take it until I was loading them into the container to take with me.

Anzac Biscuits

90g Rolled Oats (I used wholegrain)
150g Plain Flour
220g brown sugar
40g dessicated coconut
125g butter (melted & still warm)
2T Maple Syrup (or Golden depending on your preference)
1T water
1/2t bicarb

Preheat oven to 140C (160 if not fan forced).
Combine all dry ingredients except bicarb.
Combine all wet ingredients, then stir in bicarb to this.
Combine all the ingredients.
On a baking try (lined with baking paper) create little tablespoon size balls and bake for about 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

