h1

Apple & Rhubarb

September 6, 2009


I am not sure how this came to be my first use of Rhubarb this year? perhaps it hasn’t been and I just don’t remember cooking with it. I wouldn’t think so though, since I do so love Rhubarb.

I just couldn’t resist the long pink/red sticks when I saw them on Friday. They called me and I immediately knew what I’d do with them. This started out life as a compote. I follow a very traditional compote recipe I got from Gourmet Traveller some time back – but tweaked to include apple. And then, because I can’t help it, I blend it when it’s all done. Perhaps I should call it Stewed Apple & Rhubarb?

Apple & Rhubarb ‘Compote’

Approx. 600gms diced Rhubarb
2 diced Apples
155gms caster sugar
1/3 cup water

Combine Rhubarb and sugar in saucepan. Stand until moisture is drawn out of the rhubarb (takes about 15 minutes).
Add Apple and Water
Cook covered with a lid and stirring occasionally, over low-medium heat until rhubarb is tender (takes about 20 minutes)
Place in blender and blend until smooth
Serve warm or cool

Leave a Reply

