h1

Mango Pannacotta

September 16, 2009

It’s very hard to satisfy my desire to bake and cook and what not when one is on a restricted diet! My body and it’s unfairness to me is cruel – hopefully it will balance itself out soon and I will be able to begin the slow and gradual reintroduction of all the things I miss now! In the mean time I bake and cook in sparing amounts because with only feeding myself and the Husband the products of my kitchen adventures call me and I eat and I pay the price!!! The Husband of course continues to ‘enjoy’ the benefits of his genetics (which I hope to one day pass on to our children) but just because he can doesn’t mean he should!

So in the hope of satisfying my ‘problem’ I unselfishly offered to begin to provide the dessert component of our weekly family dinners. Each Tuesday night the Husbands family (the Clan) show up after work to my mother-in-laws (MIL) house and enjoys an evening familial bonding which is lovely. With my family small and scattered about the country this opportunity to get together with the Husbands family is something I deeply appreciate. I thought though that perhaps it would be appreciated if my MIL doesn’t have to provide everything to satisfy 7 people!

It will be a challenge I’ve decided, one which I will thoroughly enjoy! My father-in-law (FIL) doesn’t like any berries but Strawberries (which the Husband hates, though actually he’s not a fan of berries really) whereas my Sister-in-law (SIL) and Brother-in-law (BIL) love berries. MIL likes all things chocolate, especially with orange, whereas BIL hates chocolate in any form but in its original state (well he will make exceptions for brownies I hear) and especially dislikes the chocolate orange combination. FIL doesn’t really like hot puddings – preferring things like trifles, whereas my SIL hates trifle. Now I’ve made no mention of Little E (my niece) but she’s often easily satisfied with some custard or ice-cream, and well at just over 2 it’s still an ongoing adventure to see what she does and does not like! I could go on, but needless to say everyone has different tastes, and I’m sure I’ll get it wrong sometimes. But, thankfully one thing I can count on is that at Clan gatherings there will always be ice-cream available for those who don’t want what is on offer.

This week was the first go around of me supplying the dessert, and I figured I’d start with something I was sure my FIL would enjoy. He was having some day surgery completed and I thought something made from his favourite fruit would be a winner. And, thus my mango pannacotta was born. It’s lovely creamy texture and subtle mango undertones always make me smile so surely it’d be a success – and I suppose one could say it was. With those of the family who enjoy mango. However, for my first go around I failed my SIL (sorry!) who likes neither pannacotta or mango…and the Husband, will eat mango but it isn’t his favourite so whilst he ate the dessert and said it was nice and thanked me for my efforts did make sure to remind me mango isn’t his favourite, in case perhaps I’d forgotten? Ahhh well, lesson learnt and FIL had made sure there were strawberries on offer for SIL so I don’t think she minded too much.

Mango Pannacotta

2 large mangoes
250mL cream
2t sugar
2T gelatine

With a serrated edge knife slice off both sides the fattest part of the mangos (the cheek). Score the cheek into little cubes and then with a spoon scoop out the flesh from the skin. Then with a paring knife cut around the pit with a paring knife, and remove the remaining flesh from the skin and trim around the pit to remove any remaining flesh.
Place flesh of mango into a food processer and let this process for 2 or 3 minutes until the mango is smooth.
Place the cream and sugar into a medium saucepan and over a medium heat, stir constantly until the sugar dissolves and the cream is almost at a boiling point. Do not allow this mixture to boil, and remove from heat.
Whilst whisking this mixture slowly add the gelatine until dissolved and absorbed and then stir in the mango. Keep whisking until well blended and then divide the mixture into 4 serving dishes (though I originally served mine into 5) and place into the fridge to set. To soak up any moisture from the hot mixture you can cover the tops with baking paper.

Maple Mango

1 Mango
1/4c of Maple Syrup

Prepare mango as directed above. Place in small baking dish, cover with maple syrup and bake in an oven at 180C for about 20 minutes. Allow to cool, and divide evenly over pannacotta.

Recipe adapted from a number of recipes (including Cook (almost))

Leave a Reply

