h1

Orange Lemon Cake

September 30, 2009

Tomorrow is October which is my official start date for Flavour of the Month, which this month is going to feature Traditional South African Cooking. I’m very excited; I have a recipe picked out and ready to go – not until Friday night due to time needed but it’s going to start.
But, before then I thought I’d show a recent baking experience. Yet another family dinner offering – this time aimed to please my SIL after my disastrous first attempt! So keeping in mind what I know about my SIL: that for ease of access Orange’s are one of her favourite fruits and that “anything with Lemon is good” I chose a combination I thought would work out quite well – an Orange & Lemon Cake!

Strolling around a fresh fruit and vegetable store I had come across some delectable looking Blood Oranges and couldn’t go past them. They made their way quickly into my basket and up to the counter for purchase. I love the sweetness of them (personally a “normal” orange is a touch acidic for me at times) and….since I have such a love of all things red, I get such joy of slicing them open to see their dark red interior!

Orange & Lemon Cake
• 3 cups all-purpose flour
• 1-1/2 tsp. baking powder
• 1/2 tsp. baking soda
• 1/4 tsp. salt
• zest of 1 lemon
• zest of 2 oranges
• juice of 1 lemon
• juice of 2 oranges
• 3/4 cup milk
• 1 cup butter, at room temperature
• 1/4 cup vanilla sugar
• 1 1/4 cup sugar (if you don’t have vanilla sugar, just use 1-1/2 cups regular granulated sugar)
• 5 large eggs, at room temperature

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. and butter and flour a 10-inch cake pan or springform pan.
2. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Once sifted, add the orange and lemon zests and mix well. Set aside.
3. Combine the butter and sugar and mix for 2 to 3 minutes until the butter is light in colour and appears fluffy.
4. Combine the lemon juice, orange juice and milk and stir.
5. Add the eggs to the butter/sugar mixture, one at a time, making sure to scrape down the sides of the bowl after each addition.
6. Begin adding the dry ingredients, in three additions, and then alternating with the milk/juice mixture. You should begin with the dry ingredients and end with the dry ingredients.
7. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 50 minutes to an hour. Check the cake after 50 minutes by inserting a toothpick or cake tester into the centre of the cake. If it comes out clean, it’s done. If not, continue baking the cake
8. Once done, remove the cake from the oven and set on a wire rack to cool completely. Once cool, unmold the cake.

Recipe adapted from Cream Puffs in Venice.

I also had a large quantity of passionfruit that I wanted to use, so I made a syrup-y passionfruit icing to go on the top. Very simple was about ½ cup of fresh passionfruit pulp and about 1 cup of icing sugar, not 100% sure of quantity as I just added and mixed until I got the consistency I wanted.

Leave a Reply

