h1

Pork Spareribs

October 2, 2009

Today was the first time I got to make something for Flavour of the Month, which this month is Traditional South African Cooking.
I started off with something that would please the Husband no end. He loves pork and he loves ribs (of any variety) so I figured it was a safe beat. Plus on the really positive side it was something that was fairly quick and easy for me to prepare post a long and hectic day at work.
The original recipe called for honey however, I was fresh out (shopping day is tomorrow) and at 4:30am when I was sorting out the marinade I wasn’t in a position to go buy some. I know I should’ve checked, but I only used the last of it yesterday.
It was delicious all the same. The meat fell away from the bones with such easy, it was delightful to eat. The only thing I would change is the quantities of marinade; I’d do a little bit more next time.

Pork Spareribs

1.5kgs pork spareribs
Marinade
125ml soy sauce (salt reduced)
25ml maple syrup
15ml sherry
1 clove of garlic, crushed

Place the spareribs in a shallow baking dish. Combine the ingredients for the marinade and pour over the ribs. Marinate for a minimum of 2 hours (I did 8 hours) drain reserving the marinade. Ideally, braai , the spareribs over moderate coals for 25-30 minutes, turning and basting often with the marinade. If unable grill the spareribs under a preheated grill for about 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

