h1

Pineapple Cookies

October 26, 2009


I could hear my KitchenAid calling me. It’s being doing that all weekend, I’ve been trying to ignore it. I’ve been baking too much since it came – like I said I have failed to photograph them, but I’ve made peach & almond muffins, meringue and oatmeal cookies (ok that’s not really heaps, but in the space of 5 days that’s a lot for me) – but for me, it means I’ve been nibbling a lot!

I’m a nibbler, I can’t help it. When I’m making things I can never resist the urge to get a teaspoon and dip it in, or lick the flat beater clean. It’s not good for me on a variety of levels though, it creates pain, it adds to my hips! So I was resisting the siren call of the KitchenAid!

It however, was not working, every moment I was not busy, I was thinking of what I could bake. I thought about some brioche, coffee cake, more cookies, I could not settle on anything. So when I couldn’t decide, I figured I’d just have to leave it. Then, I found out a friend had an accident, he’d had a go-kart land on him – and this friend, loves baked goods. So who was I to deprive him of some cheering up by not baking? (I really need no prompting do I?)

In the end I decided on some pineapple cookies, they make me think of summer & sunshine which makes me smile, so I thought they’d be perfect. They are soft and chewy and really easy to make. I really should’ve done them with crushed pineapple, but I only had pineapple pieces so I had to improvise a little, and so they weren’t as good as usual. However, I think as a cheering up present they’ll do just fine.

Pineapple cookies


227gms butter
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
560g can crushed pineapple, drained and juice reserved
1 tsp. vanilla
4 cups flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder

For the icing:
Reserved pineapple juice
2 cups powdered sugar

In a mixer bowl cream the butter with the sugars. Add the eggs, pineapple and vanilla.
In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Slowly add to the wet ingredients.
Drop by teaspoonful onto a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 200 degrees for 10 minutes.

For the icing: Gradually add pineapple juice to the powdered sugar by the tablespoon. You want the consistency to be a bit thick, but still stream off the spoon. While the cookies are still warm, spread the icing on the tops.
This recipe makes about 8 dozen soft, delicious cookies.

Leave a Reply

