h1

Epic Failure

October 27, 2009


The 2009 October Daring Bakers’ challenge was brought to us by Ami S. She chose macarons from Claudia Fleming’s The Last Course: The Desserts of Gramercy Tavern as the challenge recipe.

My second Daring Kitchen world, but my first ever Daring Bakers, and for me it was an epic Failure…..

My KitchenAid did all the hard work, making perfect stiff peaks, it all look great. I followed the directions step by step I read up on all the suggestions, I tried my best. I was so super excited; I thought maybe this one time I’d get it! But, no….failure! And, as with my Daring Cooks Challenge I left it all too late to try again.

Did I over-fold? I don’t know! But I failed! No feet! No form! Epic failure!

Taste wise? Excellent! Delicious! Gosh I nearly ate them all in one foul swoop off of the baking tray once they were completely cooled. But, they didn’t hold their form, they didn’t form the feet! Maybe next time?

6 comments

  1. My motto: as long as it’s good to eat, it’s not an epic failure :p


  2. epic Failure? I know what you mean.


  3. No no no nothing is a failure in the Daring Bakers’ it the journey that is all important and you successed on that. Don’t be upset I’m sure later you will success at these macarons. Well done on you effort. CHeers from Audax in Australia.


  4. I will succeed! one day!!!


  5. This is why the DBs is so hard, because someone isn’t actually there watching you to tell you what you did differently! I still have no idea why the challenge recipe wouldn’t work for me…maybe you’d have better luck with another recipe? At least you get to eat your “epic failures” 🙂


  6. You should definetly try a different recipe, that’s what I plan on doing next! All I succeeded in making was a mess and something that looked vaguely like a macaron! If they tasted good it’s not a complete fail then!



Leave a Reply

