h1

Wholemeal Brioche

November 6, 2009


At work yesterday I had a thought, I really wanted some brioche. There were 2 reasons for this. The first was really simple, I just wanted it! I imagined putting a nice lathering of some fig jam on it, and that imagining made me happy. The second was a little less selfish, in that I was planned to see a friend this weekend who loves Bread & Butter Pudding.

She seriously loves it like no one else I know. She had a wonderfully catered engagement party in July of this year and she requested that her Nan make some pudding and bring it to the party because she just had to have it.

For a long time now I have wanted to make a Brioche Butter Pudding (and I still plan too) but first, I needed to make myself a Brioche, didn’t I? So I did – and covered in fig jam it was exactly what I’d been craving.

It was buttery and good just perfect, and I adapted the recipe slightly to give it a bit of a twist just “to see” I used a wholemeal plain flour – the original recipe calls for plain flour, and I’ll give that a go another time I’m sure.

Brioche


250g whole meal plain flour & pinch of salt
1 tsp instant dried yeast
½ cup milk
1 tbsp sugar
3 egg yolks, lightly beaten
75g softened butter

Mix flour, salt and yeast. Warm milk and sugar slightly, stirring, until sugar has dissolved, then allow it to cool a little. Mix flour, salt and yeast in bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a dough hook. Combine egg yolks and warm milk mixture. Make a well in flour, then pour in liquid and mix to a dough. Work until dough forms a smooth ball, about 10 minutes. Continue beating while adding butter in two lots. The dough should be shiny and smooth and will come away cleanly from sides of bowl.
Cover bowl with a clean cloth and leave dough to double in size in a draught-free place for about two hours. Knock back dough, tip onto workbench and briefly knead by hand. Shape into desired shape or a loaf or divide into individual buns. Allow to rise again, covered, for one hour.
Bake at 180C for 30 minutes or until well risen and golden.
Cool before using.

Recipe adapted from Cuisine

Leave a Reply

