h1

Leftovers?

November 14, 2009


I mentioned in an earlier posting that I had plans for some bread and butter pudding for a friend. Well those plans eventuated in a way, I wanted to something a little different (thus the use of the brioche) so I flipped through a number of bread and butter recipes, and some bread pudding recipes and then decided that I would just give it a whirl.

Now – taking note of the picture, I hope this indicates to you the reception this received. I had taken a small portion out prior to serving this up for my BIL but had places it into an unattractive container and didn’t fancy taking it out and setting it up for a nice picture. I had honestly thought there would be leftovers – it was a big roasting pan!

Alas there were no leftovers; the caramel bread pudding was received with such delight it was hoovered into people’s mouths at a rate I did not expect. No one stopped at one serve they needed more. It wasn’t too rich (obviously) and the caramel depths were delightful. All in all a great success if I do say so myself.

Caramel Bread Pudding


600gms ounce day-old brioche & croissant
2 cups heavy cream
2 cups of milk
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 ½ cup firmly packed brown sugar
4 tablespoons of water

Preheat the oven to 180C.

Tear the croissant and brioche into pieces and put in a baking dish; I used a roasting pan
Put the sugar and water into a saucepan, and swirl around to help dissolve the sugar before putting the saucepan on the burner over medium to high heat. Allowing the sugar to caramelise; this will take 3-5 minutes
Turn heat down to low and add the cream, with a whisk, then add in the milk. Take off the heat and, still whisking, add the beaten eggs.
Pour the mixture over the croissants and brioche and leave too steep for 10 minutes if very stale.
Place in the preheated oven for 20 minutes and serve.

Leave a Reply

