h1

Cannoli

November 27, 2009


I feel like I have had some success this time! It is exciting!

The November 2009 Daring Bakers Challenge was chosen and hosted by Lisa Michele of Parsley, Sage, Desserts and Line Drives. She chose the Italian Pastry, Cannolo (Cannoli is plural), using the cookbooks Lidia’s Italian-American Kitchen by Lidia Matticchio Bastianich and The Sopranos Family Cookbook by Allen Rucker; recipes by Michelle Scicolone, as ingredient/direction guides. She added her own modifications/changes, so the recipe is not 100% verbatim from either book.

Success had! I was a bit apprehensive about this to begin with; I’ve always looked at them but never made them because I am always apprehensive of things that are fried. I did see the option of baking them, which I may try next time. This time though I thought I would go the traditional route, I didn’t have the tubes to begin with so I went and bought some. I understand that we did not have to buy anything to complete these challenges, but I didn’t have a broom handle, and I’d actually wanted to make these for some time now, so I used it as a bit of an excuse.

I only got 1 size, not a good idea because I was a little disappointed with the size. Would’ve liked a smaller cannoli actually but the taste was good all the same. And, it looked good which is great for me after the past failures. The cannoli was nice and bubbly just like it was meant to be, I was so pleased with myself.

The dough was a bit stiff like others have commented on but I used my pasta roller to roll it out which I think helped. I only made two types both custard, one chocolate custard. I dipped them with walnuts after because I had some left over from a salad I’d been making for dinner that night. I seem to cater to the taste loves of the Husband a lot when given the opportunity. He’s not a fan of ricotta nor is he a lover of mascarpone so not quite traditional but it was delicious all the same.

It was a great challenge, I loved it, and I liked the challenge a lot. I plan to give a savoury a go sometime very soon. These are not a normal thing to be able to find here in Australia, at least not anywhere in my local area. I am aware that there is some places in the inner city area that sell them but you really don’t see them very often. So it was a lovely special treat.

13 comments

  1. I love the idea of custard (and chocolate custard) as the filling and your cannoli looks so good lots of warts (blisters) and yes I’m with you I don’t fry very often so this was the perfect challenge recipe to get some practice. And it really seems like you enjoyed this challenge and the results. Cheers from Audax in Australia. Oh yes you are right cannoli is unusual in Australia especially where I live anyway. Aud


  2. I think this is success. your shells look amazing, love the blister.
    great job.


  3. Gorgeous cannoli! Your flavours sound divine! Awesome job =D.


  4. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed and succeeded with this challenge. Your cannoli looks great, perfect blistering!


  5. Congratulations on your success!


  6. They turned out so great and look very tasty! I don’t think I rolled mine thin enough because I had no blister whatsoever, but yours look perfect! Great job on a successful challenge!! 🙂


  7. I have to admit that I don’t remember seeing these at all in Brisbane either. I’m sure you can get them somewhere though….

    Your varieties look delicious!


  8. lovely cannoli.


  9. delicious

    http://forkbootsandapalette.wordpress.com


  10. Your cannoli are beautiful!


  11. Congrats on turning out some beautiful and delicious cannoli! I am so happy to hear you and your hubby loved it, and you can never go wrong with chocolate or vanilla custard as a filling! That’s one filling I must try, especially considering I LOVE custards of all kinds! Thank you for deep frying with me this month!


  12. I’m glad you had success this time round, because to me, your cannoli looks great. The best thing about this recipe is that it’s so easy, yet tastes fantastic. I’d definitely like to give the savoury version a go. I’ve found the Cannoli in alot of Italian patisseries or cafes, maybe try Leichardt or Haberfield.


  13. Yum! They look tasty!
    Love the yellow custard one – pretty color!



Leave a Reply

