h1

Gluten Free Steamed Christmas Pudding

November 27, 2009


My grandmother is coming for Christmas this year. And, for years now she’s been unable to eat wheat. She’s not a traditional gluten free-ite, she can still have oats for example, but she cannot have wheat. So, we have to improvise for her. She also can’t have dairy and is a vegetarian so at times that can make life extra difficult. But having said that, the challenge is also good – I enjoy that as well.

We traditionally make a pudding for the family of course it’s been done already as well. It is being fed every now and then to keep it moist. But, it didn’t seem fair that we would all benefit from pudding and that my grandmother would have nothing. So I thought I’d try my hand at a pudding, which made me a little apprehensive because sometimes these things are dense and solid and difficult to digest. You can’t however, let these things stop you can you? Of course not!

So hunted and searched, merged a number of recipes together and came up with the below recipe! I didn’t have a great day so I needed the challenge to make me feel better. I set to work, well…..my Kitchen Aid really set to work, I just added things together and let it go but that was enough to make me feel better. And I was truly happy with the result, I had a little nibble and it was good!

Not dense at all, well the right amount of dense – because it is a Christmas pudding after all! Not gritty either, basically just good!

Christmas Steamed Pudding


225g Gluten Free Flour mix (I used a combination of Almond Meal, Rice Flour and a mix that I’d done previously of Corn Flour, Tapioca and Soy)
1/2 tsp each ginger, cinnamon and mixed spice
1/3 cup golden syrup
2 cups mixed dried fruit – whatever you like best
2 tbsp sugar
1 tsp baking powder
3 eggs
125g butter or margarine (1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons olive oil)

Cream butter (if using, otherwise mix oil), sugar and golden syrup together.
Add the eggs, one at a time and beat well.
Add all other ingredients and stir well to mix.
Place in a greased pudding bowl. I used 4 little individual custard cups/ramekins. However, any kind of heat-proof pudding basin will do fine. I have to cover with greaseproof paper, then with foil, and secure the covering well. Place the bowls in a large saucepan with hot water reaching about half way up the sides of the bowl, and bring to the boil. Keep the saucepan covered. I use my pasta cooking saucepan so I can lift out the bowls easily at the end.
Reduce the heat and steam for 2 hours. Keep the boiling water about half-way up the sides of the pudding basins. You will need to check it from time to time and top up with boiling water.
Will keep for a little while like normal puddings, but needs to be warm, so to serve do the same for about half an hour again.
<br /

One comment

  1. I made this steamed pudding and it was great. Thank you!



Leave a Reply

