h1

Honey & Five Spice lamb with buk choy

November 30, 2009


I enjoy when flavours work well together, and this recipe provided that. I was drawn to this recipe because I don’t use Five Spice that often, so I thought I’d give it a go. The other thing I loved about this recipe was that it worked well for an after work dinner. I do finish early most days which is great, I love that aspect about my work, but because of that I can schedule other things into my day after work instead of having to do it on the weekend like some. So on days like that I need something that can be done quickly and efficiently but still have a depth of flavour to make cooking worthwhile.

This is my final entrant in my Flavour of the Month for November. It has been enjoyable to use 1000 best-ever recipes from AWW there were many things to choose from obviously, it meant that I got to cook dependent on what I craved.
I have chosen my December Flavour of the Month and of course it could only be one thing. Essential Christmas Cookbook it’s technically not my book; it’s borrowed from my SIL. But I am claiming it for the month, whilst she’s away on holiday! And I’m very excited, I am such a Christmas addict – but in the sense that I like good food and the time spent with family. I like to make things and give them I like the joy of the season. I don’t believe in the fancy Christmas lighting, or the hundreds of dollars people spend on gifts. Keeping it simple is the way it should be!

Honey & Five Spice lamb with buk choy


¼ t five-spice powder
¼ cup oyster sauce
2T honey
2T rice vinegar
2 cloves garlic
600g lamb sliced
1T sesame oil
2 fresh red chillies, sliced
2cm piece of fresh ginger, cut into matchsticks
1 medium onion, red, sliced
500g buk choy
¼ cup coriander
1T crushed peanuts

Combine five spice, sauce, honey, vinegar and garlic in small bowl.
Combine lamb with 1T of mixture in a medium bowl.
Heat oil in wok, stir fry lamb in batches until browned. Return to the wok add remaining five-spice mixture, chilli, ginger and onion. Stir fry until onion softens. Add buk choy stir fry until hot.
Serve sprinkled with coriander and nuts.

One comment

  1. O – I wish you had posted this one before I celebrated thanksgiving- would have been great!



Leave a Reply

