h1

Coke in Ham

December 16, 2009


In fairness of the “baked ham” mentioned in my Daring Kitchen post I thought I best give it it’s own entry. I have been using my Flavour of the Month cookbook, I promise, I just haven’t written all the entries yet, slack I know! That’s the plan for the weekend.

Anyway, so I’ve always wanted to try Nigella’s Ham in Cherry Coke from Feast so because the Clan decided to have a bit of a combined birthday/Christmas last Friday before BIL, SIL & Little E went away I thought this occasion called for something a little festive. So, Salmon en Croute from the Daring Kitchen and this ham seemed perfect!

I made a few adaptations from the normal recipe. I could NOT find cherry coke anywhere, so it became just ham in coke, but I did add far more cherry jam then the recipe called for in a little hope of adding some more of that flavouring. The end result to me, was delightfully soft, moist and tasty ham that I had to keep restraining myself from picking it before dinner was served! It didn’t win the Husband over in quite the same way as his usual Gammon Christmas Ham does (recipe for this will follow closer to Christmas, care of MIL!) but he did like it a lot and was happy to munch away on left over’s for a couple of days post meal so it wasn’t a failure either.

Ham in Coke


2.25kg boneless mild cure gammon
Approx. 6 cans of coke
1 onion
Glaze
Approx 16 whole cloves
8 T cherry jam
1 t smoked paprika
½ t red wine vinegar

Put the ham snugly into a large saucepan and fill with cold water. Put the pan on the heat and bring to the boil, then drain the ham into a colander, wash the ham under the tap and rinse the saucepan before putting the ham back in (this is to get rid of some of the saltiness)
Add the coke and the onion to the ham and if the liquid doesn’t cover the ham add some water. Put back on the heat and bring to the boil, turn this down to a simmer partially cover the pan and cook for about 2 hours.
When you are ready to glaze the ham, preheat the oven to 230C. Remove the ham from the liquid, reserving it for later and sit the ham on a board. Strip off some of the rind and a little of the layer and stud with cloves. Put the jam paprika and red wine vinegar into a saucepan and whisk together over the high heat, bringing to the boil and simmer until it reduces to a syrup consistency.
Sit the ham in a roasting pan pour the glaze over and put into the oven for 15minutes. Take the oven out of the oven, remove the cloves and rest before you carve it.

Leave a Reply

