h1

GF & DF Scones

December 16, 2009


I have this great scone recipe that can be used with multiple substitutions and additions depending on peoples dietary needs. And today at work, we are having a lunch for a person who’s turning 40 on the weekend. And, as I believe I’ve previously mentioned one of the lovely ladies at work is GF and often doesn’t get catered for at these sorts of events. So combine this with my grandmother being around and what else could I make but something Gluten Free?

I discovered this recipe in my first year of marriages whilst the Husband was still not allowed to eat a plethora of things. The draw card? The name of the recipe was “gluten free, dairy free, egg free scones”! I can’t remember where I got this recipe but I am forever grateful for it because I adapted it in many ways for the Husband and gave him sweet scones to have with honey or (for whatever reason) sugar and margarine and made him savoury scones he could have with cheese or even with a meal instead of some sort of rice noodle/plain rice dish. Obviously at that time I was using a rice flour base because he wasn’t allowed the corn or potato found in many GF friendly flours, but I would also add a little almond meal and/or buckwheat and that worked well as well.

Variations have included ¼ cup of nuts + ½ cup of raisins or dried cranberries, plain or ¼ cup of cheese; ½ cup mashed pumpkin and once with just a few spices to make it “Christmas-y”….I think its pretty endless really just start with the base and add things if you want
This time around because of my grandma being here I used Nuttelex Olive Oil instead of margarine/butter and I also used soy milk (though you can also use rice milk if you want – or of course buttermilk if you don’t need to go dairy free). They also don’t puff up as much as normal scones, but that’s not too surprising is it?

GF & DF Scones


2 ½ cups GF flour mixture
1t xanthin or guar gum
3T sugar (optional)
2t baking powder
½ cup cold nuttelex (or margarine)
1 cup soy milk + 2T of lemon juice

Sift flours together, stir in cum, sugar and baking powder. Cut in the margarine (I used my KitchenAid for this). Once mixed dump into a bowl and stir in any additions you’re going to add (nuts etc) and then stir in buttermilk, mixing well (they won’t get tough). Turn out onto a board (floured) and gently knead for about 2 or 3 minutes. The dough should be soft but hold a shape.
Drop large spoonfuls of the dough directly onto a baking sheet and pat into the shape you want.
Place in pre-heated oven at about 180C and bake for 20 minutes, until lightly browned.
They don’t stay fresh for more than a day, so you can freeze them successfully when wrapped well and gently reheat them in a low microwave!

One comment

  1. mmm, that looks yummy! My husband loves scones.



Leave a Reply

