h1

Two birds with One stone

January 3, 2010


I think that I will have to delay announcing my Flavour of the Month for a bit, what with my injury and also the fact that in approx. 6 weeks I will be going away for 6 weeks, so I thought if I heal up for 2 weeks, I can have a “month” until I go. Sound like a plan?

I made this dessert for family dinner for 2 reasons, the first is due to the Husband requesting (repeatedly) this dessert and the second because I needed to adapt it to dairy free goodness for my grandmother.

The texture was lovely, if a little different then what I’m used too with Creme Caramel. But it was good and the coconut added a lovely taste combination with the caramel. Overall I’m rather happy with this concoction. I was able to utilise this for a challenge the Husband & I have decided to do, the challenge o taking a photo a day for a year – I didn’t do great photos with this, but that knee issue means that after being on it for awhile, I want off it!

Coconut Creme Caramel


¾ cup sugar
½ cup water
400mL Light & Creamy Coconut Cream
½ cup water
¼ cup sugar
3 eggs
1 egg whites

preheat oven to 180°C.
Combine sugar and water in pan, stir until sugar is dissolved, bring to boil, continue boiling without stirring until mixture turns golden brown. Remove from heat, pour caramel into 6 x ¾ cup capacity ovenproof dishes, rotate dishes individually to coat base and sides.
Beat together remaining ingredients, pour custard into dishes. Place dishes in baking pan with hot water coming halfway up sides of dishes.
Bake 20 to 25 minutes until just set. Remove dishes from pan, cool, refrigerate 2 hours. Turn out on serving dishes to serve.

Leave a Reply

