h1

Green Chile & Grilled Chicken Enchilada

May 14, 2010

Our hosts this month, Barbara of Barbara Bakes and Bunnee of Anna+Food have chosen a delicious Stacked Green Chile & Grilled Chicken Enchilada recipe in celebration of Cinco de Mayo! The recipe, featuring a homemade enchilada sauce was found on http://www.finecooking.com and written by Robb Walsh.

I must admit I was both excited and saddened by this challenge. I love Mexican food, though my love affair with Italian cuisine is well documented, so the thought of giving this a go was exciting. I have a burrito mix that we use fairly regularly and is enjoyed by the Husband immensely so was certainly excited to give this a go. But, then, we face the reality that is my inability to locate some of the ingredients! Locating tomatillos would just be a joke! I could manage a bunch of the other ingredients but those would prove my downfall. Of course we were adviced of some variations thanks to Audax – and I could get my hands on some green gooseberries!

I loved roasting the green Chiles, the flavour of them really pops after you do. I didn’t make my own tortilla I must admit. Went with a store purchased variety, but, all in all I think that it worked out really well. The Husband loved it, only thing is I wished it was a bit of a deeper shade of green! I have seen some variations since creating mine, with people going an all vege option which I think would be great, or using pork which I think the Husband would love. But, I did stick to the original – chicken!

8 comments

  1. Your enchiladas look great :-). I could not get tomatillos either, so I used tomatoes instead (I think green gooseberries are even harder to find here than tomatillos).


  2. So glad your husband loved it. It would be fun to try it with gooseberries one day to taste the difference. Thanks for cooking along with us.


  3. I agree about roasting the chiles, there’s something so satisfying about the aroma, sweet & charred all mixed up. If we ever have a gooseberry challenge, I’ll be in the same boat as you with the tomatillos!


  4. i totally understand the frustration of looking for tomatillos! But either way, you’re enchilada turned out great with gooseberries! great job on the challenge


  5. They turned out great! I love the look of yours and I’d love to try it with gooseberries. I remember eating them as a child from my grandmother’s garden. I haven’t seen them around here in years though. I’ll bet they were delicious!


  6. Those enchiladas look great!

    I do love green chile-tomatillo sauce, but there are so many, many fantastic variations – and I’m really hoping to try the gooseberry substitution some time!


  7. Looks like most people had trouble finding either tomatillos or Anaheim peppers (or both!). Sounds like yours turned out great even without those things.


  8. It sounds like this was a success even without tomatillos and the recipe chillies but that is the joy of this recipe very versatile to adapt to any taste, and yes I did a number of all vegan version and they were great. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.



Leave a Reply

