h1

Salmon with Puff Pastry & Pesto

July 12, 2010

Next on the list from Giada’s Kitchen – New Italian Favourites was Salmon with Puff Pastry and Pesto. There are no photos of this dish though, bad me!

This was for the Husband only, not for me – I try I really do, I want to give fish a go. But, I can’t I don’t like it, it doesn’t like me … we have a mutual dislike for each other that works well. Unfortunately for the Husband this is, for he would eat fish each and every day if I would just make it for him. But, when you won’t eat it, and when you’re only cooking for 2 – it does seem silly to be making 2 meals in that amount of regularity. If it happens, it’s usually because I have a craving for some soup – since the Husband and soup have the same mutual dislike for each other that I have with fish.

Due to the fact that I was going to be preparing two meals I was drawn to this recipe as my first fish based recipe, simply because despite involving pastry it didn’t require you to make the pastry. You could of course, and perhaps one day I would – especially knowing that my own puff pastry tastes so much better than that store purchased variety but….not this time.

Problem encountered though – was I failed to read the recipe in its entirety in my multi-tasking haste. Darn it! So this dish ended up a bit reminiscent of my Salmon en Croute Daring Cook Challenge. With the pesto nestled delightfully inside the pastry instead of dolloped on the top. Thankfully the Husband didn’t seem to mind – and I’d probably go that route again, but for those wanting to be a bit truer to the recipe, this is not a closed dish, pastry and salmon cooked separately and then everything is stacked on each other.

Salmon with Puff Pastry & Pesto
(for 4)

1 sheet of frozen puff pastry
2 centre cut salmon fillets
Salt and pepper to taste
¼ cup sliced almonds
¼ cup pesto
2 tomatoes

Preheat the oven to 200C
Unfold the pastry and cut into 4 equal squares. Prick each square all over and arrange the pastry on a baking tray. Cut the salmon into 4 pieces. Season with salt and pepper and place on the pastry. Sprinkle each piece of salmon with some almonds and pesto and fold pastry up. Bake in the over for about 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

