h1

Almond Soba Noodles

July 14, 2010


The July 2010 Daring Cooks’ Challenge was hosted by Margie of More Please and Natashya of Living in the Kitchen with Puppies. They chose to challenge Daring Cooks to make their own nut butter from scratch, and use the nut butter in a recipe. Their sources include Better with Nut Butter by Cooking Light Magazine, Asian Noodles by Nina Simonds, and Food Network online.

It was a great challenge indeed, my instinctual leanings were towards sweet things, but then they always are. And, whilst that was an optional extra for the challenge I wanted to stretch myself. And, then my first thought was of course satay, but that doesn’t stretch me, I’ve done that before plenty of times. It’s a favourite dish for the Husband (especially in the form of a satay chicken pie…go figure). I liked some of the recipes on offer, especially the Chicken with Pecan Cream & Mushrooms but having provided a plethora of pasta dishes to the Husband of late I thought I’d go more noodley!

Having a huge stash of Almonds in my house ready for Cantuccio baking at all times I went there! I did an almond butter with soba noodle dish, I need to work on my photography and naming skills! Taste though? I think I got that!

Almond Butter

1 cup whole natural almonds, roasted
1/8 tsp. salt

In food processor with metal blade in place, grind almonds and salt until paste begins to form, I added about 1T of vegetable oil to mine as well.

Almond Soba Noodles

½ cup almond butter
2 tablespoons lemon juice
8 tablespoons hot water
Dried soba noodles
150g good quality steak – diced
Baby Carrots
Onion
Green capsicum
Chilli Flakes
1 tablespoon Oyster Sauce

Mix Almond Butter with lemon juice and water, until quite fluid.
Cook the soba in rapidly boiling salted water just until tender, then drain and rinse under cold running water. Drain.
Caramelise the onions, remove from pan. Pan fry the steak quickly then add in the capsicum, carrots and oyster sauce and chilli flakes.
In a large bowl combine the noodles with the almond mixture. Toss briefly before adding the meat mixture, tossing to fully combine. Serve.

7 comments

  1. YUM – that sounds delicious. Such a simple but elegant combination of flavors, it really sounds fantastic. Great job with the challenge.


  2. Yum! what a tasty sounding dish, great job on this month’s challenge!


  3. Isn’t that a delicious flavour combination and that photo is good enough to see that the dish was a success. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.


  4. This sounds delicious! I love almonds and noodles together 😀


  5. Great work on this challenge! The soba noodles look very good, and it looks like your recipe could translate nicely for vegetarians, using a different protien… Thank you for sharing!


  6. This looks great! I love the idea of using soba noodles. Nice work on the challenge this month!


  7. Names? Pictures? Far less important than a yummy dish. Nice, but far far less important. Sounds like you got the taste, so well done!

    Stay JOLLY!
    D&S



Leave a Reply

