h1

Mezze

February 14, 2010


The 2010 February Daring Cooks challenge was hosted by Michele of Veggie Num Nums. Michele chose to challenge everyone to make mezze based on various recipes from Claudia Roden, Jeffrey Alford and Naomi Dugid.


AND it was one of the most delicious things I’ve had in a long time! it was enjoyed by my whole family. It was perfect! my pita didn’t turn out the best not as fluffy as I would have liked, but taste wise it was brilliant! Even the gluten free pita I adapted for my Grandma worked out quite well.

I had a lot of fun making this, it was a lot of fun to have the different options to go with it. I was able to cater for the different tastes of the people I had. It was really great, my mum had flown over from the other side of the country to celebrate the Husband finishing university. My grandparents had come up because of this as well, but also to house sit for my impending European Holiday. So, I had to cater to the tastes of 5 people. We do have some similar tastes but not always with everything. So this was perfect! we all loved it!

Oh, and we are missing the tabouleh in this picture (made with couscous for the GF Gma). But, my mezze was a giant bowl of hummus, baba ganoush, falafel, 3 types of sliced meat, sweet corn, sun-dried tomato, olives, roasted capsicum, caramelised onion and 3 dolmades for my Grandma.

This will be my last Daring Kitchen for awhile now….I return to my home on the 5th April so will pick it up again then!

5 comments

  1. Congrats on the hubby ending uni and this type of food is perfect for a large crowd of people. Well done and I hope your trip goes super. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.


  2. I also made tabbouleh with couscous – it was sooooo scrumtious. Looking forward to seeing you back here in April!


  3. great job it looks delicious.


  4. Great job on your challenge and your mezze looks delicious.


  5. Thank you so much for making mezze with me this month! I am so happy that you enjoyed the food and had fun making it! Your family sounds like such neat people.

    Everything you made looks fabulous and really tasty!

    Have a great trip!



Leave a comment